My Purse is My Barometer

barometer is a scientific instrument used in meteorology to measure atmospheric pressure.  Pressure is word that could be interchanged with stress.   I would like to submit that my purse is my barometer.

No worries, I am not going to dwell on the fact that lack of money in one’s purse can cause pressure or stress and therefore my purse is my barometer.

Instead, I will focus on the fact that when my purse is out of control and in a state of disorderly conduct, my life is typically in state of disorderly conduct.

I stumbled upon this fact several years ago and began using my purse as a barometer.

Typically pressure builds and builds and eventually reaches a maximum level before things start to blow up.

When my purse gets too heavy and I am carrying too many things around with me, then I am probably trying to juggle too many things in my life. I need to toss some things out.

When my purse has so many receipts and I can’t find the one I need, then my desk at home probably has too many piles.  I need to stay home for an evening and get organized.

When I have seventeen pens in my purse because I keep adding another one every time I leave my office, then I probably have duplicates of items in my home that I keep adding to because I am not keeping things together.

Let your purse be your guide.

You’ll know when it’s time.  Time to go home, take a step back, take a deep breath, regroup, get organized, get your thoughts in order, get yourself back together, throw out some stuff, put some stuff in the right place, take inventory, and lighten your load!

How do you know when it’s time to go home and pull yourself back together?

Image

2 thoughts on “My Purse is My Barometer

  1. Hi,

    I love this post! I was smiling and nodding my head as I was reading it. It’s all too true – lol.

    I try to use a smaller purse so it’s lighter to carry (I do a lot of walking), but then I end up stuffing it too full and straining the zipper. Mmm, I think it means I need to let go of some stuff in my life.

    Nancy

    • Oh my, the story of stuff! I could catalog stuff and create a set of books as big as a set of encyclopedias. The importance of stuff has significantly decreased in my mind in the last few years! Although I did seriously love that orange Kate Spade purse picture at the end of my blog for about 2 seconds!

Leave a Reply

