Where did fifty one go?

Fifty Two is close.

Where did fifty one go?

My friend is a personal trainer.  Not my personal trainer, just a friend that I train with.

That is until a few weeks ago, when I signed up for her twelve week challenge.

Last week was week one of the twelve weeks challenge.

Week one was a different kind of week.  Normally I don’t do a lot of traveling with my job. Most nights I am at my home, and the next morning I wake up in my own bed.    From there it’s really easy to get up early and make it to the gym that is only 5 minutes away from my home.   From there it’s easy to eat healthy because I have planned.

Last week I traveled from my home to the East Coast of Savannah Georgia for a three day meeting.  After a five hour drive back home, I jumped on a plane the next morning for a three day meeting on the West Coast in Seattle Washington.

Three hour time zone difference only added to the confusion.

My internal time clock was so out of balance, all day meetings, and late night dinners, and sleeping in strange places at different hours created a sense of havoc.

I had my running shoes and shorts for the gym, but I never made it to the gym or outside not a single time.  I brought them home smelling the same way they were when I left, clean.

Most of my focus on this Week 1 challenge was mental.  I thought about the challenge and made good choices on food and I thought about the things I would work on when I got home.

I know one thing for sure, if my job included constant travel I would have to make some big adjustments to my training.   I didn’t choose the restaurants, but I did get choices on selections.  Seattle is much more health conscious when it comes to menus compared to Georgia, at the least the places that are close to me.

I am ready for week two, but know that I am a little behind from the others that put their hearts into week one.

I also know that this fact will drive me to work hard this week to catch up.

This challenge is not about weight loss.  It’s about making changes that are going to take me way beyond fifty two.  It’s about creating abundant energy and a mind that’s clear.  It’s about skin that glows.  It’s about finishing something that I started.  It’s about focusing on my sleep habits.  It’s about changes for the better and changes for the future.

The quick picture I snapped of my bag reminds me of what another personal trainer told me at some point.   Think of it like you are going on a trip, exercise and healthy eating habits are what you are packing.  What are you going to take with you?

Twelve weeks from now I will be taking along some different things!   I am ready for the challenge!

luggage

Leave a Reply

